Post mortem examination

Postmortem examination of dead body is divided into to two sections:

1. External examination

  • Documentation of General features like
    • Anthropometric measures (body lenght, body weight),
    • Secondary sexual characteristics (head hair, appearance of beard and moustache, breast development, axillary and pubic hair etc..),
    • Identification marks (tattoos, mole, scar marks, etc),
    • Features of postmortem changes like (Algor mortis, Rigor mortis and Livor mortis)
  • Documentation of Injuries.

2. Internal examination 

  • Examination of three cavities
    • Cranial cavity
    • Thoracic cavity
    • Abdominal cavity